All events take place onstage in Sunset Center,
the Central Coast's premier performing arts facility. Visit the Sunset Center Website.

The main entrance and foyer of
Carmel's Sunset Center.

Carmel Music Society
Biennial Piano Competition

Carmel Music Society was delighted to sponsor our 40th competition on June 9, 2018, and with great pleasure we announce the winners.

Meet the Winners (Click here for photos and bios)

  First Prize: Kevin Lee Sun

  Second Prize: Xiao Chen   

  Third Prize: Christopher Richardson

Read an online review of the winners' concert

About the Competition
Saturday, June 9, 2018, Sunset Theater, Carmel

In 1976 the Society established an annual competition with a three-year cycle: Piano, Voice, and Instrumentalists. In 2016 we re-established it as a Biennial Piano Competition.

The 2018 Competition was open to pianists who reside, study, or were born in California, Oregon or Washington State and are between the ages of 18 and 30 on June 9, 2018.

The initial application is by audio CD and a panel of judges in Carmel chooses the Finalists.

The finalists competed for cash prizes totaling $10,000 including a recital presented by Carmel Music Society next season.

The Finals took place on the Sunset Center stage and each of the finalists presented a varied program of 20-25 minutes.

Carmel Music Society welcomed three distinguished artists as judges for our 2018 Finals: Heidi Hau, pianist, winner of Carmel Music Society's 1999 Competition; Hans Boepple, pianist; and Jung-Ho Pak, conductor.

Click here to meet the three judges

The prize winners were announced at the conclusion of the Finals, and the three winning pianists presented their programs that evening in the Awards Concert.


  First Prize $5,000 (includes a solo recital in the CMS 2018-19 season)

  Second Prize $2,000   ::   Third Prize $1,500   

  All other finalists receive $500.

More Information for Applicants:

If you have questions, please click here to send us a message

Click to download an Application Form

Click to download the 2018 Competition Rules and Regulations

Meet the distinguished Judges of the 2018 Competition

View a complete list of First Prize winners 1977-2016

All information subject to change.